That’s Entertainment!

Daily writing prompt
What movies or TV series have you watched more than 5 times?

I’ll be rummaging around in the old mental video store for this, I know. Lets get started.

Television

The Beverly Hillbillies

Jethro Bodine is a true hero. Whether he’s trying to be a fry cook, a brain surgeon or a double-naught spy, he never lets his lack of education or intelligence get between him and his dreams. His irrepressible optimism should be an example to us all, as should his fashion sense.

Ellie May Clampett has got to be the most empowered woman since Eleanor Roosevelt. When she’s not making cousin Jethro say uncle, she can be found skeet shooting with a rifle, throwing strikes at 120 MPH or hanging out at the cement pond with her beauty queen friends.

BATMAN!

Sorry Adam, I’m sure you understand. Love you on Family Guy. Julie Newmar: Making the world a sexier place for longer than I have. -wink- Now I know where Vinnie got it.

STAR TREK!

“If I see one more picture of me hooking up with some space chick, I swear to God…”

Sorry Jim. Wait a minute! Isn’t that Batgirl?

Sure as Hell is.

I knew that.

Movies

The Odd Couple-1968

You leave me little notes on my pillow. Told you 158 times I can’t stand little notes on my pillow. “We’re all out of cornflakes. F.U.” Took me three hours to figure out F.U. was Felix Ungar!” I can’t even tell you how many times Cathy and I have watched this movie. Dozens of times at least and it never gets old.

The Producers – 1967

A longish time ago, I heard a radio interview with Mel Brooks, who said that he heard a Muzak version of “Springtime for Hitler” in an elevator at Warner Brothers. Okay, here’s where I save a lot of time, you too.

This man is an unmitigated genius. I’ve seen everything he’s ever done, with the probable exception of some of the TV stuff with Sid Caesar and Carl Reiner. There will never be another one like him. Movies? Got ’em.

Tombstone 1993

Next to Blazing Saddles, this may be the best western movie I’ve ever seen. Well dressed, wisecracking superheroes of the wild west, and badass moustaches all around. What’s not to love?

Just like the rest of you, I could post a mighty tome but I’m not here for that. Short and sweet and over before it gets boring, if I do it right. Thanks for looking.

One thought on “That’s Entertainment!

  1. Springtime For Hitler is a classic!
    I watched Batman and Star Trek when I was a kid but never could stand the Hillbillies.
    My five times watched movies would be :
    Casablanca
    Glory
    Shawshank Redemption
    Out of Africa
    Philadelphia
    The Godfather
    😊

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started